2020 Presidents report

A year like no other, our club, like all clubs and organisations, faced the many challengers that Covid-19 brought us throughout the year. Leading into the 2020 season, the Bentleigh Football Netball Club was arguably in the best shape in the club’s history, and the pre-season led to plenty of exciting momentum going into the season. 3 Senior sides, 2 Under 19 sides, 40 Women’s Footballers and 4 netball teams made us one of, if not, the biggest sporting club not only in the SFNL but in the south-east region. With some great senior recruits, plenty of talented juniors coming through, a strong and united committee, we were excited to see what 2020 could bring. The biggest challenge our club now faces is ensuring we can carry the momentum we had and kick start where we left off for the 2021 season.

I would like to thank our committee for their tireless efforts in preparing our club for the 2020 season, and for adapting and managing the changes that continually came at us.

Brett Cooper – Vice President

James Coles – Junior Vice President/Subscriptions Jayde O’Brien – Secretary

Mark Eyles – Treasurer

Sarah Radlow – Communications Coordinator Taryn McGaw – Functions Coordinator

Jeff Mackie – Licensed Bar Coordinator

Olivia Scott – Women’s Netball Coordinator Garry Morgan – Facilities Manager

Garry Matlock – General Manager

Danny Mountt – Merchandise Coordinator

One of our challengers this season was keeping our community and members engaged, I would like to make a special thanks to Sarah Radlow who worked tirelessly on our social media pages to ensure they were up to date and keeping everyone within our community engaged. A huge thanks also to Sarah for the work she has done in upgrading our website and databases.

I would also like to thank General Manager, Garry Matlock, and Secretary, Jayde O’Brien, for their communication and work with key stakeholders during Covid-19, particularly with the council and the league.

An enormous thanks goes to our coaching group and support staff across all teams. Our head coach’s Peter Pirera, Brad Atholwood, Liam Dimattina, Paul Nankervis, Steve Hall, Steph Clegg and Ozcan Ozaydin and all their assistant coaches have remained stable, loyal an